

A. E. Bailey Named President, E. M. James, Vice President

FFICERS of the American Oil Chemists' Society for the 1951-52 term will be as follows:

A. E. Bailey, president; E. M. James, vice president; T. H. Hopper, secretary; J. J. Vollertsen, treasurer; and these as members-at-large—A. R. Baldwin, J. C. Konen, and C. E. Morris. Results of



A. E. Bailey

the more than 1,000 ballots received by mail by the March 30, 1951, deadline were announced at the New Orleans annual meeting on May 2. Serving with these seven officers will be four past presidents of the Society: J. R. Mays Jr., 1950; V. C. Mehlenbacher, 1949; C. P. Long, 1948; and R. T. Milner, 1947. Retiring past president is S. O. Sorensen, 1946.

Mr. Bailey (1936) is research director for the HumKo Company, Memphis, Tenn., and previously had been chief process engineer, oil and

fat section, Votator division, Girdler Corporation, Louisville, Ky. Before going to Girdler he had been senior chemical technologist, Southern Regional Research Laboratory, New Orleans, La. He is a native of Texas and attended the University of Mexico. From 1927 to 1941 he was with the Cudahy Packing Company. Mr. Bailey has been a member of the Journal Committee since 1944 and became a member of the Governing Board in 1949 and vice president in 1950. He is the author of "Industrial Oil and Fat Products" (1945) and editor of "Cottonseed and Cottonseed Products" (1948). As a specialist in edible fats and oils Mr. Bailey was a lecturer on hydrogenation at both the 1948 and 1949 short courses sponsored by the Society at the University of Illinois. In the past he has contributed numerous articles to the Journal.

THE incoming vice president, Mr. James (1932), is assistant to the technical adviser to the board of Lever Brothers Company, New York City. With the firm since 1937 he was recently transferred from the Research Department in Cambridge, Mass., to the executive offices. Previously he had been a department head with the Sharples Specialty Company, Philadelphia, since 1929. He has been vice chairman of the Refining Committee since 1943 and chairman since 1949, also serving on the advertising and nominating committees in recent years. In 1935 he was elected third vice president, and in 1947 second vice president. Election as vice president in 1951 puts







T. H. Hopper

him in line for unopposed nomination for president in 1952, according to the by-laws of the Society.

Mr. Hopper (1936), the new secretary, has been on the Governing Board before, as a member-at-large in 1949-50. Last year he was named technical editor of the Official and Tentative Methods of Analysis, the Society's looseleaf manual, and chairman of the committee to prepare a convention manual. He was chairman of the annual meeting in New Orleans in 1948 and 1949. He has served on a number of Society committees: soybean analysis, membership, check samples, uniform methods, nominating and election and is chairman of the Seed and Meal Analysis Committee. He is head of the Analytical and Physical Division, Southern Regional Research Laboratory, New Orleans, La. Prior to 1942 he had been leader and director of the Analytical Section of the U.S. Regional Soybean Laboratory in Urbana, Ill., for five years. From 1920 to 1939 he was an agricultural chemist for the North Dakota Experiment Station.

Treasurer since 1947, Mr. Vollertsen (1916) was re-elected without opposition. He has also served as president of the Society in 1925 and was made an honorary member in 1947. Mr. Vollertsen has also been associated with two prominent committees: Uniform Methods, 1920-1947, chairman from 1928 on; and chairman, Smalley, 1936-47. He retired as chief of chemical research development for Armour and



A. R. Baldwin



J. C. Konen





C. E. Morris

J. J. Vollertsen

Company, Chicago, in December 1946 after 23 years of service.

A MEMBER of the Journal Committee since 1946 and chairman since 1949, A. R. Baldwin has also been editor of the Journal since 1949. He has served on such Society committees as membership, education, FAC, nominating and election, special finance, and Chicago convention. He has also lectured at the 1949 short course. Dr. Baldwin is a chemist with the Corn Products Refining Company, Argo, Ill.

Mr. Konen has been research director for Archer-Daniels-Midland Company, Minneapolis, Minn., during the past seven years and has been with the company since 1935 in paint sales and development work. He was given the M.S. degree in 1935 by North Dakota State College. His committee activities have included membership, FAC, Smalley, seed and meal analysis, and program for the 1950 fall meeting in San Francisco. He was a lecturer for the 1950 short course on drying oils at the University of Minnesota.

A member of the Governing Board during the past year, Mr. Morris was re-elected. He has been chairman of the Chicago fall meeting in 1949 and will be again for 1951, also chairman of a special committee on check samples in 1944-46 and of a special committee on finances in 1949-50. He was a lecturer in the 1949 short course on edible oils at the University of Illinois. Mr. Morris is production manager, Refinery Division, Armour and Company, Chicago.

Referee Renewals

Last month all referee chemists who have been certified during the past year were sent application forms for renewal of certification during the 1951-52 season. Request for renewal was to be accompanied by a \$5 remittance covering the fee, payable to the national office of the American Oil Chemists' Society in Chicago. Applications are being forwarded to R. W. Bates, Armour and Company, Chicago, chairman of the Referee Examining Board.

A.O.C.S. CALENDAR

1951—Chicago, Edgewater Beach hotel, Oct. 8-10
 1952—Houston in the spring
 Cincinnati, Netherlands-Plaza hotel, Oct. 20-22

B-C is BEST!

Year In and Year Out Day In and Day Out

Most edible oil refiners have found this statement true over the years.

IF you want

- economical bleaching
- less FFA rise
- greater stability
- less filter cloth replacement
- better clay uniformity

in other words

Better-Cheaper Bleaching

USE B-C



BENNETT - CLARK CO., INC.

P. O. Box 951

NACOGDOCHES, TEXAS